Pure Global AI
EDA · structured requirements

🇪🇬 Egypt medical device regulatory data

Explore the medical device requirements currently available for Egypt, organized by topic and linked to official sources.

59 facts22 dimensions11 official sourceslatest verification 2026-09-15

Advertising, claims & promotion

Which claims, audiences, channels, approvals, and restrictions apply?

Compare countries

Prior written EDA approval required before advertising devices

advertising.prior-approval
Fact-level verified

It is not permitted to advertise medical devices in any media outlet except after obtaining a written approval from the competent administration of the Egyptian Drug Authority; the import-approvals guideline restates that devices may not be advertised in any media except after obtaining EDA approval.

Conditions
  • Applies to advertising of medical devices in any media outlet, including registered devices.

The locator is bound to the ingested official EDA import-approvals corpus (version 02/2025).

Advertising samples importable only by scientific offices, marked not-for-sale

advertising.samples-scientific-offices
Fact-level verified

Only scientific offices have the right to import samples for the purpose of advertising and marketing medical devices, and such samples must be printed with the statement that they are samples for advertising and not for sale.

Conditions
  • Import of advertising and marketing samples is restricted to scientific offices of the manufacturer or registration holder.

Approval validity & renewal

What expires, what is retained periodically, and when must renewal start?

Compare countries

Re-registration window and grace period

renewal.reregistration-window
Fact-level verified

Re-registration is every 10 years; initial acceptance of the re-registration request must be within the first 3 months of the last year of the license validity. The applicant may complete re-registration within one year after expiry and trading is permitted during that year; otherwise the request is cancelled, the inspection administration is notified, and renewal requires a new request and fee repayment.

Local devices and non-reference-country imports without safety findings or modifications need no renewed scientific-committee evaluation.

Authority & regime

Which authority and binding regime govern this product, task, and date?

Compare countries

Competent authority

authority.competent-authority
Fact-level verified

Egyptian Drug Authority (EDA) is the competent authority for medical devices; its Central Administration of Medical Devices (CAMD) runs registration, import approvals and device safety.

Conditions
  • EDA established by Law No. 151 of 2019 as a public service authority reporting to the Prime Minister.

Effective from 2019-08-25

Confirms and upgrades baseline fact; CAMD role corroborated on covers of CAMD guidelines (res-eg-reg002-2025).

Change control

Does the event require internal documentation, notice, prior approval, transfer, or a new application?

Compare countries

Variation categories

variation.categories
Fact-level verified

Changes are tiered: 'Do and tell' (applicant name/address, non-significant label changes) - consignments not seized but change must be filed; 'Tell and do' (codes, manufacturing site transfer, shelf-life, sterilization method, manufacturer name, packaging, significant label changes) - consignments not placed on market without an initial acceptance number; 'Tell, assess and then do' (material/substance/component, design, intended use) - marketing suspended while EDA adjudicates whether it is a variation or a new device requiring a new registration file.

Conditions
  • AIMD, Class III and IIb changes to codes, sterilization, packaging or shelf-life are additionally evaluated by the pharmaceutical vigilance administration.

Effective from 2025-09-01

Variation tracks and clocks

variation.tracks
Fact-level verified

Variations are reviewed on a Normal Track (per the administration's waiting list) or Fast Track (priority); the applicant receives a response within 8 working days (normal) or 5 (fast), file review takes 25 working days (normal) or 10 (fast), and a suspension for missing documents lasts at most 90 working days before cancellation. A one-year grace is granted for placing the varied device on the market from acceptance of the variation request; if the applicant does not follow up for 60 working days the file is archived and the request cancelled.

Effective from 2025-09-01

Clinical investigation & performance

Which clinical or IVD performance evidence or study is required and accepted?

Compare countries

Clinical investigation approval for devices

clinical.device-trial-approval
Fact-level verified

Interventional research in Egypt using new medical devices not previously used in humans and not accredited by international bodies falls under EDA clinical-trial oversight (Law 214/2020). For locally manufactured devices the applicant must first obtain technical-file approval and classification from the Central Administration of Medical Devices before protocol submission; imported devices (with or without international quality certification) proceed directly to protocol submission and evaluation.

Conditions
  • Non-interventional research needs only IRB approval, which is final.

Registration of Class IIb/III/implantables additionally requires long-term safety/efficacy clinical publications (res-eg-reg002-2025 Appendix 4).

Device definition & scope

Is the product a device, IVD, accessory, software, or borderline product locally?

Compare countries

IVD definition

definition.ivd
Fact-level verified

IVD medical devices are defined as reagents, reagent products, calibrators, control materials, kits, instruments, apparatus, equipment or systems for in vitro examination of specimens derived from the human body; specimen receptacles are IVDs, while products for general laboratory use are not unless specifically intended for IVD examination.

Effective from 2022-01-24

Medical device definition

definition.medical-device
Fact-level verified

Egypt defines a medical device as any instrument, apparatus, appliance, tool, application software, implant, material or other article intended for human medical purposes (diagnosis, prevention, monitoring, prediction, prognosis, treatment, alleviation of disease, etc.) that does not achieve its principal intended action by pharmacological, immunological or metabolic means. Software is explicitly in scope.

Dossier requirements

Which evidence, local deltas, formats, and signatures are required?

Compare countries

Core quality certificates in the dossier

dossier.core-certificates
Fact-level verified

The dossier requires a CE certificate of the finished product issued by a notified body (with EU 722/2012 TSE annotation where bovine material is used), an ISO 13485:2016 or EN ISO 13485:2016 certificate from an internationally accredited certification body covering the product category, and a stamped/signed Declaration of Conformity. A CE certificate is not required for Class I non-sterile devices, which instead submit a compliance-with-essential-requirements and harmonized standards checklist.

Conditions
  • Route for devices holding international quality certificates; Canadian documents are accepted per Health Canada forms (MDEL class I, MDALL II-IV).

Document format, signatures and samples

dossier.documents-format
Fact-level verified

Uploaded documents must be original, stamped with the company's official stamp and signed by the legal representative (scans or electronic signature accepted); the file includes technical-file contents on manufacturer letterhead (composition, analysis certificate, sterilization certificate, packaging), inner/outer label data with Master Label samples and artwork, the original IFU signed and stamped by the manufacturer, shelf-life certificate, previous license for re-registration, and a device sample.

Certificate legalization rule

dossier.legalization
Fact-level verified

Foreign certificates from reference countries must be legalized by the Chamber of Commerce and the Egyptian Embassy in the country of origin unless EDA verifies their authenticity directly with the issuing bodies; if the issuing body does not respond within 3 months of file receipt, the file is saved and must be resubmitted with legalization.

Extra evidence for non-reference-country devices

dossier.non-reference-country-evidence
Fact-level verified

For devices imported from non-reference countries in all classes (I, IIa, IIb and III), the applicant must provide clinical trials published in reputable scientific journals and an approved, stamped summary of market history from centers/hospitals in reference countries where the device was used, plus material composition certificate, catalog/leaflet with intended use and inner/outer labels.

Conditions
  • Applies to imports from non-reference countries, all classes.

Class IIb, III and implantable devices presented for new registration must bring long-term scientific papers on safety, efficacy and clinical trials.

Economic-operator roles

Which manufacturer, representative, holder, applicant, importer, and distributor roles apply?

Compare countries

Registration applicant

market-entry.local-role
Fact-level verified

The registration applicant is an importing company, a local facility or a scientific office; the importing company is the first entity in the supply chain that imports devices into Egypt. For local devices without international certificates the applicant is the local manufacturer or its scientific office. A foreign manufacturer authorizes the applicant via a letter listing the devices it may register.

Conditions
  • Foreign manufacturers act through an Egyptian importing company/local applicant.

Confirms baseline market-entry-local-role fact.

Establishment, import & distribution

Which establishment licences, importer permissions, and distribution controls apply?

Compare countries

Import approval requirement and validity

import.approval-validity
Fact-level verified

Importing medical devices requires an EDA import approval issued via the MeDevice platform, valid for one year from issuance; a customs release approval per invoice or annual plan is also needed. Newly registered devices are not released until their notification of registration is issued (two transition exceptions, each with one year for release).

Effective from 2025-09-01

Customs release and invoice opening

import.customs-release-inspection
Fact-level verified

Customs release covers registered devices, registration samples, raw material analysis samples, import approvals, annual-plan devices and intragastric balloons; for import approvals and annual plans the company pledges that shipment invoices will not be opened unless an inspector from the Central Administration for Inspection on Pharmaceutical Institutions is present.

Effective from 2025-09-01

Medical devices importers register

import.importers-register
Fact-level verified

The import-approval file must include the medical-device importer's registration licence, added to the supplier or manufacturer based on the relationship letter.

Effective from 2025-09-01

The separate importer-name labelling requirement is maintained under the label/IFU dimension and is not inferred from this import-approval document.

Label, IFU & language

Which label and IFU elements, languages, symbols, and translation controls apply?

Compare countries

Label language rule

label.language-arabic-or-english
Fact-level verified

Label data for devices traded in Egypt must be written in Arabic or English at least, so it can be read and understood by medical professionals and ordinary citizens; the labelling guideline itself is issued in Arabic with an English translation, and the Arabic text prevails in case of inconsistency.

Conditions
  • Applies to medical devices, medical/laboratory equipment, IVDs, components and production inputs.

Effective from 2022-01-24

UDI database additionally requires an Arabic version of the trade name for lay/home-use devices (res-eg-udi).

Minimum label data

label.minimum-data-elements
Fact-level verified

Minimum label data: trade name, product name, product code/model/Ref, batch or serial number, special handling and storage precautions, single-use indication where applicable, expiry date (month/year at least), UDI on label or packaging when applied, factory name/address and country of origin, sterilization word/symbol plus method, and the Egyptian importing company's full name and address as recorded in the importers registry.

Effective from 2022-01-24

Storage condition labelling (Zone IVa)

label.storage-symbol-30c
Fact-level verified

Because Egypt falls in climate zone IVa, local manufacturers must run stability studies at 30 C +/-2 and RH 65+/-5%, and place a guiding symbol on internal labels stating the maximum storage temperature is 30 C, or clearly state 'Upper limit of temperature = 30' on the label; storage under the labeled conditions is followed up by inspection.

Conditions
  • Applies to locally manufactured medical devices.

Manufacturer PMS

Which PMS plan, report, PMCF or PMPF, trend, and lifecycle-update duties apply?

Compare countries

PMSR for Class I

pms.pmsr-class-i
Fact-level verified

Manufacturers of Class I medical devices (and Class A or equivalent IVDs) must prepare a post-market surveillance report summarizing post-market data analyses with rationale and corrective/preventive actions, updated when necessary and available to the authority on request.

Guideline issued November 2025 (issue date on cover; no separate application date stated).

PSUR frequency by class

pms.psur-frequency
Fact-level verified

Class IIa, IIb and III devices (and IVD classes B, C, D) require a PSUR with a national appendix; Class IIb/III (IVD C/D) at least annually, Class IIa at least every two years, IVD Class B at least every 3 years, custom-made devices annually or every 2 years per class; other devices provide PSURs on request. PSURs must cover benefit-risk conclusions, PMCF/PMPF findings and sales/usage volume.

Safety officer and SOPs

pms.safety-officer-sop
Fact-level verified

Manufacturers, scientific offices, authorized representatives, importers and distributors must appoint an authorized person (safety officer) to communicate with the Medical Devices Safety Unit (MDSU), and must document and implement written procedures for incident follow-up, plus a tracking system recording supply and distribution information for complaints handling.

Trend reporting

pms.trend-reporting
Fact-level verified

A trend report (Annex 10) must be made to MDSU on a significant increase in reportable incidents, expected side effects exempt from reporting, or normally non-reportable events that could significantly impact the benefit-risk analysis; methodology and observation period are defined in the PMS plan. EU Commission trend report forms may be used.

Official forms & portals

Which current form, portal, account, and submission package must be used?

Compare countries

MeDevice electronic platform

portal.medevice
Fact-level verified

Registration, variations, import approvals, annual plans and special import requests are all submitted on the EDA MeDevice platform at medevice.edaegypt.gov.eg; responses, requirements and completions are exchanged through the same platform, with registration replies within 5 working days (normal track) or 3 working days (fast track).

Same platform mandated in import guideline 4.1.1 and variations guideline 5.2.

QMS, audit & inspection

Which QMS, audit, inspection, and certificate scope is accepted or required?

Compare countries

QMS evidence for market access

qms.iso13485-route
Fact-level verified

For the international-certificate route, QMS evidence is an ISO 13485:2016 or EN ISO 13485:2016 certificate issued by an internationally accredited certification body covering the product category; an FDA CFG stating cGMP compliance replaces the ISO 13485 certificate. ISO 13485 alone qualifies a local factory for the without-CE route but does not itself issue Egyptian registration; MDSAP reuse is not explicitly provided for.

Confirms baseline qms-market-access-evidence fact.

Local factory GMP and technical requirements

qms.local-factory-gmp
Fact-level verified

Local factories must hold approvals from competent industrial authorities and meet CAMD technical requirements for manufacturing sites (site layout, ceiling height, water precautions, generator etc.); factories classified as Class Is, IIa, IIb and III are covered, while Class I non-sterile factories are excluded except devices in pharmaceutical dosage form. No site modification is allowed before EDA request and actual inspection. EDA inspection committees may also travel abroad (Chairman Decree 157/2021).

Conditions
  • Local manufacturing route; GMP per Central Administration of Operations (CAO) procedures.

Effective from 2022-07-20

Recall, FSCA & market surveillance

Which recall, FSCA, notice, and authority-coordination duties apply?

Compare countries

FSCA/FSN notification and approval

recall.fsca-notification
Fact-level verified

Where a market-placed device fails to perform per its IFU and the failure might lead to death or serious deterioration, the manufacturer/authorized representative must initiate an FSCA and report it to MDSU in advance (except urgent recalls), notifying all affected countries simultaneously. FSNs must be reported to MDSU within 2-5 days of issuance with an FSCA implementation plan; MDSU issues an approval letter permitting FSN distribution (urgent recalls may distribute first), and periodic implementation reports are required if the FSCA exceeds 90 days.

Market surveillance and inspection

recall.market-surveillance-inspection
Fact-level verified

When a scientific committee issues a one-year decision requiring re-evaluation, the applicant must submit a signed and sealed list of hospitals supplied with the device so that the Medical Devices Safety Department can use questionnaires to verify safety and effectiveness and present the results to the committee.

This narrow fact covers the safety re-evaluation described in the import-approval guideline; it does not independently establish Egypt's general recall or market-surveillance framework.

Registration pathways

Which registration, notification, listing, reliance, or conformity route applies?

Compare countries

Bundling registration

registration.bundling-system
Fact-level verified

Non-sterile devices can be registered as a bundle when they share the same legal manufacturer, classification, generic proprietary name, common intended use and similar or close design, within permissible variants; raw material, GMDN and patient population need not match. A group of devices working complementarily can be registered as a system with a single number.

Conditions
  • Applies to non-sterile devices.

Initial registration file track with 18-month completion

registration.initial-file-track
Fact-level verified

For non-sterile Class IIa, IIb, III devices an initial registration file (Declaration of Conformity, CE certificate, ISO 13485:2016, free sale certificate) can secure a temporary acceptance number and importation approval; companies get 18 months from acceptance to complete the full file, with the first 6 months for the main documents and a one-year import grace after the final acceptance number.

Conditions
  • Applies to non-sterile Class IIa, IIb, III devices with only an initial file available.

Registration route for local devices without international certificates

registration.route-local-without-certificates
Fact-level verified

Locally manufactured medical devices of factories holding ISO 13485:2016 but no CE certificate follow guideline EDREX:GL.CAMD.009/010; the factory must apply GMP in accordance with Central Administration of Operations (CAO) procedures, and trading is not permitted until registration procedures are completed.

Conditions
  • Applies to local manufacturers holding ISO 13485:2016 without CE; implements Chairman Decree 424/2022.

Effective from 2022-07-20

Registration route for devices with international quality certificates

registration.route-with-international-certificates
Fact-level verified

Imported and local medical devices holding international quality certificates (CE, ISO 13485, FDA CFG etc.) are registered under guideline EDREX:GL.CAMD.002 (v2, effective 09/2025), with separate procedures for sterile devices and for non-sterile Class IIa, IIb and III devices.

Conditions
  • Applies to imported devices and local devices holding recognized certificates.

Effective from 2025-09-01

Confirms baseline fact with precise guideline identity.

Reliance & recognition

Which foreign decisions or evidence can be reused, with what effect and conditions?

Compare countries

Existing records include acceptance, restrictions and evidence reuse. The applicable product scope and conditions are preserved below; a reference does not by itself confer market access.

Egypt approvals and evidence in other markets (0 records)

No linked record is currently maintained. This does not establish that a pathway is unavailable.

Prior approvals and evidence for Egypt (9 records)

EgyptUS FDA

Prior approval / evidence record

FDA 510(k)

Authority

FDA 510(k)

Accepted

Yes

Benefit

A 510(k) clearance plus an FDA CDRH export certificate satisfies the free-sale evidence for a reference country

Maintained reference · planning ranges remain estimates · reviewed 2026-08-30

EgyptUS FDA · EU conformity assessment · Australia TGA · Health Canada · Japan MHLW / PMDA · UK MHRA · Swissmedic · Norway · New Zealand · Ireland · Iceland

Regulatory reference

List of reference countries

reliance.reference-countries
Fact-level verified

EDA recognizes reference countries: EU member states plus Australia, Canada, Iceland, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States of America; devices from these countries get reduced documentation, while devices from non-reference countries need extra evidence.

Variation guideline v03 (res-eg-variations) lists the same set plus Croatia and Liechtenstein.

EgyptUS FDA · ISO

Regulatory reference

US FDA certificate acceptance

reliance.us-fda-certificates
Fact-level verified

A CFG certificate issued by USFDA replaces the free sale certificate and the CE certificate; the ISO 13485 certificate is also waived if the FDA certificate shows the plant complied with current GMP requirements. 510(k) clearance supports Class II and PMA supports Class III. CFG legalization is waived when EDA can verify device data via FDA CDRH export-certificate validation and 510(k)/PMA databases.

Conditions
  • Applies to devices holding valid USFDA certificates.
EgyptEU conformity assessment · Japan MHLW / PMDA

Regulatory reference

Japanese regulation route

reliance.japan-route
Fact-level verified

Japan is a reference country (Technical Committee decision of March 2011); the same registration procedures as EU classes I, IIa, IIb and III apply to Japanese classes I, II, III and IV respectively. Japanese documents and labelling must be translated into English (by the Japanese manufacturer or an accredited Egyptian translation office).

Conditions
  • Applies to devices circulated under Japanese regulation (MHLW/PMDA).

Effective from 2023-08-29

A parallel procedure exists for UKCA-marked devices (CAMD index, 07/2023 v02).

EgyptNMPA

Prior approval / evidence record

China NMPA approval: origin evidence only

reliance.china-nmpa-origin-evidence
Pending verification
Statement

For non-sterile imported Class IIa devices EDA accepts, in the initial registration file, a free-sale certificate from the country of origin, and even one from a non-reference country, provided a reference-country free-sale certificate is filed within a 6-month grace period. This is the only point in GL.CAMD.002 at which an origin-country (e.g. Chinese, NMPA-based) marketing document has any evidentiary role; it grants no abridged review and lapses unless replaced by reference-country evidence.

Source Jurisdiction Id

china

Source Authority Id

nmpa

Source Approval

China NMPA medical device registration certificate (Class II/III) or Class I filing record

Target Jurisdiction Id

egypt

China Classes In Scope

Non-sterile Class IIa only (initial registration file)

Edge Type

Origin Country Evidence

Market Access Strength

Evidence Only

Regulatory Layer

Product Marketing

Local Application Required

Yes

Target Decision Retained

Yes

Conditions
  • Applies to non-sterile devices classified IIa under the Section 4.2.1 track
  • Initial file: declaration of conformity, CE certificate, ISO 13485:2016, FSC from country of origin
  • Non-reference FSC accepted only when no reference-country FSC is available, with a reference-country FSC due within 6 months
  • Class IIb and III must submit a reference-country FSC from the outset
  • Independent verification is incomplete. Treat this record as a research lead, not a confirmed benefit or exclusion; see the 2026-09-15 independent review.

Effective from 2025-09-01

Source passage: The following documents are sufficient for the initial registration file: - Declaration of conformity - CE certificate - ISO 13485:2016 - Free sale certificate from a reference country in case of devices classified as Class II b, III. - Free sale certificate from the country of origin in case of devices classified as Class II a. * In the initial registration file: - For devices classified as Class IIa: It is sufficient to submit a free sale certificate from a non-reference country in case a free sale certificate is not available from one of the reference countries, provided that a free sale certificate from one of the reference countries shall be submitted within the grace period of (6 months).

EgyptSource authority not specified

Regulatory reference

Free sale certificate by class

reliance.free-sale-by-class
Fact-level verified

For the initial registration file, Class IIb and III devices need a free sale certificate from a reference country; Class IIa devices may use one from the country of origin (or even a non-reference country, provided a reference-country certificate follows within 6 months).

Conditions
  • Initial registration file track for non-sterile devices.
EgyptNMPA

Regulatory reference

China NMPA approval: not reference

reliance.china-nmpa-not-reference
Pending verification
Statement

EDA's device-registration guideline GL.CAMD.002 v2 (September 2025) enumerates the reference countries exhaustively (the EU/EEA states plus Australia, Canada, Iceland, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, the UK and the USA) and China is not among them, so an NMPA certificate confers no reference-country status. A China-made device must submit the full Appendix 1 file (declaration of conformity, CE certificate from an EU notified body, ISO 13485:2016 for the actual manufacturer, and a free-sale certificate from a reference country because the country of origin is non-reference) and is routed to the relevant specialised scientific committee before registration, which may require published clinical trials, a stamped summary of market history in reference countries, and ILAC-accredited laboratory test reports depending on device type.

Source Jurisdiction Id

china

Source Authority Id

nmpa

Source Approval

China NMPA medical device registration certificate (Class II/III) or Class I filing record

Target Jurisdiction Id

egypt

China Classes In Scope

All classes (I, IIa, IIb, III; sterile and non-sterile); NMPA Class I/II/III devices are treated as 'imported from a non-reference country'

Edge Type

No Reliance Route

Market Access Strength

none

Regulatory Layer

Product Marketing

Local Application Required

Yes

Target Decision Retained

Yes

Conditions
  • Reference-country list (Section 2 Definitions) is closed; China not listed
  • Appendix 1 item 1: free sale certificate must come from a reference country when the country of origin is a non-reference country (or a USFDA CFG under item 2)
  • Section 5: devices imported from non-reference countries are subject to specialised scientific committee evaluation prior to registration/re-registration
  • Appendix 4 committee-specific extras for non-reference-country devices, e.g. Hematology: for all classes, published clinical trials plus a stamped summary of market history from centres in reference countries; Orthopaedics: reference-country market history, long-term published safety/efficacy papers, ILAC-accredited lab tests and Faculty of Engineering tests; Neurology: for implantables, EU market history plus long-term papers
  • Section 4.2.1: for non-sterile Class IIa an origin-country FSC is tolerated in the initial file only, with a reference-country FSC due within 6 months
  • Legalisation: certificates issued by reference-country bodies are verified directly; otherwise Chamber of Commerce plus Egyptian Embassy legalisation (Appendix 1 note 2)
  • Independent verification is incomplete. Treat this record as a research lead, not a confirmed benefit or exclusion; see the 2026-09-15 independent review.

Effective from 2025-09-01

Source passage: List of Reference Countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States of America [...] Devices that are subjected to specialized scientific committees' evaluation as a step prior to registration are: • Devices submitted for new registration or re-registration, which are imported from non-reference countries or locally manufactured. [...] 1) The free sale certificate that is issued by the Ministry of Health of the country of origin if it is a reference country (or a free sale certificate from one of the reference countries if the country of origin is a non-reference country) [...] For medical devices imported from non-reference countries in all classifications (I, IIa, IIb & III), the following shall be provided: - clinical trials published in reputable scientific journals. - An approved and stamped Summary of market history from centers and hospitals where the device has been used in the reference countries.

EgyptEU conformity assessment

Prior approval / evidence record

EU CE Mark

Authority

EU CE Mark

Accepted

Yes

Benefit

A CE certificate and ISO 13485:2016 are the international quality certificates that open the GL.CAMD.002 route; Class I non-sterile devices are exempt from the CE requirement

Maintained reference · planning ranges remain estimates · reviewed 2026-08-30

EgyptSource authority not specified

Prior approval / evidence record

Fast track

Name

Fast track

Description

Priority handling outside the waiting list. GL.CAMD.002 §4.1.1-4.1.2 cuts the intake decision from 5 to 3 working days and the evaluation round from 20 to 7, so the published EDA clock to the first requirements round falls from 25 to 10 working days.

Timeline Reduction

25 → 10 working days to the first requirements round

Eligibility
  • Defined in the guideline as the priority route for variations, but the registration guideline applies the same fast-track periods to registration requests

Maintained reference · planning ranges remain estimates · reviewed 2026-08-30

Review clocks

What review, validation, and applicant stop-clock rules apply?

Compare countries

Applicant completion stop-clock

review.stop-clock-suspension-90wd
Fact-level verified

If a registration file is suspended for missing documents, the company must complete requirements within 90 working days at most, after which the request is cancelled; the same request number is reused when completing. In the evaluation workflow the company must fulfil EDA requirements within 60 working days. Import-approval and variation files follow the same 90-working-day suspension rule (import files: 90 calendar days).

Distinct stop-clock rule expressed here; see typedFindings for standard clocks.

Special access & derogation

Is an emergency, compassionate, custom, humanitarian, or other exceptional path available?

Compare countries

Exhibition, research and sample imports

special.non-commercial-imports
Fact-level verified

Separate import-approval routes exist for devices used in exhibitions, workshops and training; devices imported for a research protocol; production inputs, components and raw materials for local device factories; and customs release of registration samples. For the exhibition, workshop and training route, failure to complete requested documents within 32 days stops review and causes rejection; 32 days is not the authority's review time.

Effective from 2025-09-01

Special import requests

special.special-import-cases
Fact-level verified

A Special Import Requests Evaluation Unit handles imports where the device is: a donation for hospitals, imported by a hospital, by individuals for personal use, by a physician, by a company without medical-device import activity, or by a medical-device company for a hospital or patient. Applications go via MeDevice (response in 3 working days); the Import Committee accepts, postpones or rejects with reasons, and approval is valid one year.

Effective from 2025-09-01

Submission communications & appeal

How are deficiencies answered, clocks handled, and decisions escalated or appealed?

Compare countries

Deficiency response mechanics

submission.deficiency-response
Fact-level verified

Requirements are sent to the company by e-mail/platform and must be fulfilled within 60 working days (registration workflow); suspended files are completed on the platform under the same request number, hard-copy submission may be scheduled for variations, and rejected requests state the mismatch grounds (data vs payment receipt/required documents or wrong department).

UDI, listing & traceability

Which UDI, device listing, database, and traceability duties apply?

Compare countries

Egyptian UDI Database duties

udi.database-duties
Fact-level verified

The manufacturer or its agent must submit and maintain data in the Egyptian UDI Database, validate it during submission and annually, and ensure UDI-DI data is available at the time the device is placed on the market; record updates for changes not requiring a new UDI-DI are due within 10 working days. Data must be in English, with an Arabic trade name for lay/home-use devices, and includes the agent's national registry number and the device's national registration number.

Effective from 2026-05-01

UDI requirement

udi.requirements
Fact-level verified

Manufacturers must assign UDI (UDI-DI plus UDI-PI(s)) to devices, accessories and IVDs supplied to the Egyptian market under Chairman Decree 499/2021; GS1 standards apply by default and other IMDRF-designated issuing agencies may be used if the brand owner/agent notifies EDA. Research-use, investigational and custom-made devices are out of scope.

Conditions
  • Applies to all devices supplied to the Egyptian market; manufacturers, agents, importers, distributors and healthcare providers are covered by the guidance.

Effective from 2026-05-01

Vigilance & incident reporting

What is reportable, by whom, where, in what format, and by what deadline?

Compare countries

Vigilance commitments at registration

vigilance.registration-commitment
Fact-level verified

At registration/re-registration the importing company must submit a commitment that it operates a device vigilance system followed up with the Medical Devices Safety Unit of the Egyptian Pharmacovigilance Center, and must report any recall, FSN or FSCA taking place globally or any incident monitored in Egypt. A safety file is required for Class IIb/III and for Class I/IIa with regulatory actions; Class I/IIa (IVD A/B) devices without recalls in the previous three years submit Declaration 1 instead.

Conditions
  • Safety declarations apply to all classes for imported registrations/re-registrations.

Declaration 1 wording verified in vigilance guideline I.A.a.

Reporting channel and final reports

vigilance.reporting-channel
Fact-level verified

Incident reports go to the Medical Devices Safety Unit (MDSU), part of EDA, via the MIR form downloaded from the EDA website and submitted by e-mail (pv.md@edaegypt.gov.eg); the latest EU Commission MIR form is acceptable and IMDRF adverse-event terminology should be used. Follow-up responses to MDSU queries are due within 15 days; investigation final reports within 15 days (no testing), 30 days (testing in Egypt) or 90 days (testing outside Egypt).

Serious incident reporting deadlines

vigilance.serious-incident-deadlines
Fact-level verified

Only serious incidents occurring in Egypt are reported to the MDSU, by Manufacturer Initial Report (Annex 7): serious public health threat - immediately, not later than 2 calendar days after the manufacturer establishes the causal relationship; death or unanticipated serious deterioration - not later than 10 calendar days; any other serious incident/near incident - not later than 15 calendar days. Uncertain cases must still be reported within the timeframe.

Conditions
  • Clock starts when the manufacturer establishes the causal relationship between the incident and the device.

Guideline covers all medical devices including IVDs ('All medical devices, including IVDs, are covered by this guidance').

Related structured datasets

Classification systems · 1 record
Open EU-aligned general-device classes I, Is, Im, IIa, IIb and III. →
Id

egypt:medical-device

Jurisdiction Id

egypt

Domains
  • medical-device
Name

EU-aligned general-device classes I, Is, Im, IIa, IIb and III.

Classes
  • Id

    i

    Label

    Class I

    Normalized Risk Level

    low

  • Id

    is

    Label

    Class Is

    Normalized Risk Level

    low

  • Id

    im

    Label

    Class Im

    Normalized Risk Level

    low

  • Id

    iia

    Label

    Class IIa

    Normalized Risk Level

    medium

  • Id

    iib

    Label

    Class IIb

    Normalized Risk Level

    high

  • Id

    iii

    Label

    Class III

    Normalized Risk Level

    highest

Regulator

EDA

Official Domains
  • edaegypt.gov.eg
Source Status

official-source-verified

Source Title

EDA guideline — Registration of Locally Manufactured Medical Devices, Section 4 (Classification according to EU-MDD Annex IX)

Source Url

https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/qhyli2qc/6-regulatory-guideline-of-registration-of-locally-manufactured-medical-devices-without-international-quality-certificates_gd.pdf

Verified On

2026-08-25

Source Supports
  • class-axis
Notes
  • Class I (with Is sterile and Im measurable subclasses, plus non-sterile I), IIa, IIb and III per EU MDD Annex IX; IVDs use classes A, B, C, D ('or equivalent classes'). Japanese classes I-IV map to Egyptian/EU I, IIa, IIb, III (EDREX:GL.CAMD.011 table row 5).
  • Factory technical requirements apply to classes Is, IIa, IIb and III (Class I non-sterile excluded except pharmaceutical dosage form); free-sale certificate source depends on class (reference country for IIb/III, country of origin for IIa); Class I non-sterile devices are exempt from the CE certificate requirement.
Registration pathways, prior approvals and planning · 1 record
Open Egypt registration →
Country

Egypt

Jurisdiction Id

egypt

Country Code

EG

Flag

🇪🇬

Regulator

Egyptian Drug Authority

Regulator Abbrev

EDA

Region

middle-east

Tier

3

Risk Classification

EU-aligned general-device classes I, Is, Im, IIa, IIb, III; IVDs handled separately

Classes
  • Id

    international-certificate-route

    Class Name

    All classes — device holding an international quality certificate (imported or local)

    Pathway

    EDA registration on the MeDevice platform under GL.CAMD.002

    Official Timeline
    Min

    10

    Max

    25

    Unit

    working-days

    Verification Status

    official-verified

    Official Source
    Title

    EDA Regulatory Guideline for Procedures of Registering Imported and Local Medical Devices holding International Quality Certificates (EDREX: GL.CAMD.002, version 2, effective 09/2025) — §4.1.1 intake response, §4.1.2 evaluation, §9 ten-year licence

    Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/m2vesugo/2-regulatory-guideline-for-procedures-of-registering-imported-and-local-medical-devices-holding-international-quality-certificates_up-2026.pdf

    Effective Date

    2025-09-01

    Accessed Date

    2026-08-30

    Realistic Timeline
    Min

    6

    Max

    12

    Unit

    months

    Notes
    • The published figure is the EDA-side clock through the first requirements round, not the time to a licence: §4.1.1 gives 5 working days for the intake decision on a normal-track request and 3 for a fast-track one, and §4.1.2 gives 20 working days to review the file and send requirements on the normal track and 7 on the fast track
    • Nothing in the guideline puts a period on the scientific, stability or specialized registration committees that sit between the requirements round and the licence, which is why the country row is partially verified and the realistic range is an observed estimate rather than a clock
    • Applicant-side caps: requirements must be met within 60 working days, and a request suspended for incomplete documents is cancelled after 90 working days
    • The clock is route-wide — GL.CAMD.002 varies the dossier by class but publishes one set of periods for classes I through III
    • Non-sterile IIa, IIb and III devices with only an initial file receive a temporary acceptance number that allows importation, then 18 months to complete the registration file, with the main documents due in the first 6 months
    Clinical Trial Required

    No

    Local Testing Required

    No

    Gmp Required

    Yes

  • Id

    local-no-international-certificate-route

    Class Name

    All classes — locally manufactured device with no international quality certificate

    Pathway

    EDA registration under GL.CAMD.009 after a manufacturing-site inspection

    Official Timeline
    Min

    30

    Max

    30

    Unit

    working-days

    Verification Status

    official-verified

    Official Source
    Title

    EDA Regulatory Guideline of Registration of Locally Manufactured Medical Devices not holding International Quality Certificates (EDREX: GL.CAMD.009, version 2, effective 01/09/2025) — §6 pre-registration inspection and §6.1-6.3 registration clocks

    Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/mm3f3uf0/9-regulatory-guideline-of-registration-of-locally-manufactured-medical-devices-without-international-quality-certificates_up-2026.pdf

    Effective Date

    2025-09-01

    Accessed Date

    2026-08-30

    Realistic Timeline
    Min

    12

    Max

    24

    Unit

    months

    Notes
    • Same caveat as the certificate route: 10 working days for the intake reply (§6.1) plus 20 working days to review the file and identify requirements (§6.2) is the published EDA clock to the first requirements round, and completions are then reviewed within 10 working days (§6.3)
    • The route opens with a site inspection rather than a submission: the manufacturer has 20 working days for the technical-requirements check, 120 working days to complete corrective measures and an optional 40-working-day extension before the GMP inspection report is issued
    • Local testing is real here — the Medical Devices Inspection Department draws samples from a pilot batch for analysis in EDA or EDA-approved laboratories, and the device must go to the specialized scientific committee and, where applicable, the stability and biocompatibility committee
    • A file not completed within one calendar year of acceptance is cancelled; non-sterile devices get 6 months from submission to trade after the initial evaluation
    Clinical Trial Required

    No

    Local Testing Required

    Yes

    Gmp Required

    Yes

Expedited Pathways
  • Name

    Fast track

    Description

    Priority handling outside the waiting list. GL.CAMD.002 §4.1.1-4.1.2 cuts the intake decision from 5 to 3 working days and the evaluation round from 20 to 7, so the published EDA clock to the first requirements round falls from 25 to 10 working days.

    Timeline Reduction

    25 → 10 working days to the first requirements round

    Eligibility
    • Defined in the guideline as the priority route for variations, but the registration guideline applies the same fast-track periods to registration requests
Prior Approvals
  • Authority

    FDA 510(k)

    Accepted

    Yes

    Benefit

    A 510(k) clearance plus an FDA CDRH export certificate satisfies the free-sale evidence for a reference country

  • Authority

    EU CE Mark

    Accepted

    Yes

    Benefit

    A CE certificate and ISO 13485:2016 are the international quality certificates that open the GL.CAMD.002 route; Class I non-sterile devices are exempt from the CE requirement

Key Requirements
  • Egypt Authorized Representative
  • Arabic labeling
  • ISO 13485:2016 certification
  • Free Sale Certificate — from a reference country for Class IIb and III, from the country of origin for Class IIa; the guideline lists 37 reference countries
  • Certificates submitted with the file must have at least 3 months of validity remaining
  • Import approval is a separate MeDevice application: 2 working days for the intake reply, 3 working days to send requirements, and the permit is valid for one year (GL.CAMD.007 §4.1)
  • Variations run on their own clock: 8 working days intake and 25 working days evaluation on the normal track, 5 and 10 on the fast track (GL.CAMD.003)
  • Re-registration: every 10 years, with initial acceptance required within the first 3 months of the last year of validity
Local Rep Required

Yes

Local Rep Name

Egypt Authorized Representative

Mdsap Accepted

No

Mdsap Benefit

Not recognized

Registration Validity

10 years — GL.CAMD.002 §9 issues the registration report for 10 years

Last Updated

2026-08-30

Verification Status

partially-verified

Official Sources
  • Title

    EDA Regulatory Guideline for Procedures of Registering Imported and Local Medical Devices holding International Quality Certificates (EDREX: GL.CAMD.002, version 2, effective 09/2025) — §4.1.1 intake response, §4.1.2 evaluation, §9 ten-year licence

    Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/m2vesugo/2-regulatory-guideline-for-procedures-of-registering-imported-and-local-medical-devices-holding-international-quality-certificates_up-2026.pdf

    Effective Date

    2025-09-01

    Accessed Date

    2026-08-30

  • Title

    EDA Regulatory Guideline of Registration of Locally Manufactured Medical Devices not holding International Quality Certificates (EDREX: GL.CAMD.009, version 2, effective 01/09/2025) — §6 pre-registration inspection and §6.1-6.3 registration clocks

    Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/mm3f3uf0/9-regulatory-guideline-of-registration-of-locally-manufactured-medical-devices-without-international-quality-certificates_up-2026.pdf

    Effective Date

    2025-09-01

    Accessed Date

    2026-08-30

  • Title

    EDA Regulatory Guideline of Issuance of Import Approvals of All Types Medical Devices (EDREX: GL.CAMD.007, version 2, effective 01/09/2025) — §4.1 two-working-day intake reply, three-working-day evaluation and one-year import permit

    Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/gh1epwgj/7-regulatory-guideline-of-issuance-of-import-approvals-of-all-types-of-medical-devices_upp2026-en.pdf

    Effective Date

    2025-09-01

    Accessed Date

    2026-08-30

  • Title

    EDA Regulatory Guideline for the Procedures and Rules Organizing the changes done to a Registration License Data of a Medical Device (EDREX: GL.CAMD.003, version 03, effective 01/09/2025) — 8/5 working-day intake and 25/10 working-day evaluation for normal and fast track

    Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/ov0hypw5/3-regulatory-guideline-of-the-procedures-and-rules-organizing-the-changes-done-to-a-registration-license-data-of-a-medical-device_up-2026.pdf

    Effective Date

    2025-09-01

    Accessed Date

    2026-08-30

Reviewed On

2026-08-30

Process
Template Id

default

Status

planning-template

Usage Rule

Maintained planning steps and estimates, not verified regulator deadlines.

Steps
  • Step

    1

    Title

    Pre-Submission Preparation

    Description

    Gather technical documentation, quality management system (QMS) records, and clinical data required by EDA. Appoint a Egypt Authorized Representative.

    Duration

    1-3 months

    Icon

    📋

  • Step

    2

    Title

    Application Submission

    Description

    Submit complete registration dossier to EDA including device description, risk analysis, and testing reports.

    Duration

    1-2 weeks

    Icon

    📤

  • Step

    3

    Title

    Administrative Review

    Description

    EDA reviews application for completeness. May request additional documents or clarifications.

    Duration

    2-4 weeks

    Icon

    🔍

  • Step

    4

    Title

    Technical Evaluation

    Description

    In-depth technical assessment of device safety and performance. EDA may issue questions.

    Duration

    10-25 working days

    Icon

    ⚙️

  • Step

    5

    Title

    Registration Approval

    Description

    Upon successful review, EDA issues Egypt market authorization certificate.

    Duration

    1-2 weeks

    Icon

    ✅

Government fee schedules · 1 record
Open Egypt fees →
Jurisdiction Id

egypt

Country

Egypt

Country Code

EG

Authority

EDA

Low Risk Local
Min

5000

Max

7000

Currency

EGP

Per Product

Yes

High Risk Local
Min

5000

Max

7000

Currency

EGP

Per Product

Yes

Details
  • Id

    registration-locally-produced-device

    Item

    Registration application - locally produced medical device

    Currency

    EGP

    Amount Local

    5000

    Amount Local Formatted

    EGP 5,000

    Frequency

    Per application

    Amount Status

    exact-current

    Verification Status

    official-verified

    Source Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/2hpbsirx/prime-minister-decree-777-of-2020-2.pdf

    Source Title

    Egypt Prime Minister Decree 777/2020, Schedule 1 statutory EDA charges

    Source Effective Date

    2020-03-29

    Verified On

    2026-08-25

  • Id

    registration-imported-device

    Item

    Registration application - imported medical device

    Currency

    EGP

    Amount Local

    7000

    Amount Local Formatted

    EGP 7,000

    Frequency

    Per application

    Amount Status

    exact-current

    Verification Status

    official-verified

    Source Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/2hpbsirx/prime-minister-decree-777-of-2020-2.pdf

    Source Title

    Egypt Prime Minister Decree 777/2020, Schedule 1 statutory EDA charges

    Source Effective Date

    2020-03-29

    Verified On

    2026-08-25

  • Id

    import-permit-invoice-under-10000

    Item

    Import permit - invoice value under EGP 10,000

    Currency

    EGP

    Amount Local

    500

    Amount Local Formatted

    EGP 500

    Frequency

    Per permit

    Amount Status

    exact-current

    Verification Status

    official-verified

    Source Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/2hpbsirx/prime-minister-decree-777-of-2020-2.pdf

    Source Title

    Egypt Prime Minister Decree 777/2020, Schedule 1 statutory EDA charges

    Source Effective Date

    2020-03-29

    Verified On

    2026-08-25

  • Id

    import-permit-invoice-10000-50000

    Item

    Import permit - invoice value EGP 10,000–50,000

    Currency

    EGP

    Amount Local

    1000

    Amount Local Formatted

    EGP 1,000

    Frequency

    Per permit

    Amount Status

    exact-current

    Verification Status

    official-verified

    Source Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/2hpbsirx/prime-minister-decree-777-of-2020-2.pdf

    Source Title

    Egypt Prime Minister Decree 777/2020, Schedule 1 statutory EDA charges

    Source Effective Date

    2020-03-29

    Verified On

    2026-08-25

  • Id

    import-permit-invoice-over-50000

    Item

    Import permit - invoice value over EGP 50,000

    Currency

    EGP

    Amount Local

    2000

    Amount Local Formatted

    EGP 2,000

    Frequency

    Per permit

    Amount Status

    exact-current

    Verification Status

    official-verified

    Source Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/2hpbsirx/prime-minister-decree-777-of-2020-2.pdf

    Source Title

    Egypt Prime Minister Decree 777/2020, Schedule 1 statutory EDA charges

    Source Effective Date

    2020-03-29

    Verified On

    2026-08-25

Notes
  • Schedule 1 to Prime Minister Decree 777/2020 publishes these statutory charges, and EDA still lists the decree in its current legal framework.
  • EDA service, analysis, inspection, and route-specific charges can be additional; these rows are not an all-in filing quote.
  • The 2025 EDA registration guideline confirms the mechanism: application fees follow the fee categories in the executive regulations (PM Resolution 777/2020) and service fees follow EDA Chairman decrees.
Last Updated

2026-08-25

Verification Status

official-verified

Official Sources
  • Title

    Egypt Prime Minister Decree 777/2020, Schedule 1 statutory EDA charges

    Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/2hpbsirx/prime-minister-decree-777-of-2020-2.pdf

    Effective Date

    2020-03-29

    Accessed Date

    2026-08-25

  • Title

    EDA laws and executive regulations: Decree 777/2020 remains in the current legal framework

    Url

    https://edaegypt.gov.eg/en/the-regulatory-reference-of-the-egyptian-drug-authority-eda/laws-and-executive-regulations/

    Accessed Date

    2026-08-25

  • Title

    EDA regulatory guideline for registering imported and local medical devices (2025)

    Url

    https://dev.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/iaonaz5o/8-regulatory-guideline-for-procedures-of-registering-imported-and-local-medical-devices-holding-international-quality-certificates2025.pdf

    Effective Date

    2025-01-01

    Accessed Date

    2026-08-25

Reviewed On

2026-08-25

Amount Status

exact-current

Range Available

Yes

Additional certifications and licences · 1 record
Open Egypt certifications →
Slug

egypt

Market

Egypt

Confidence

low

Schemes
  • Id

    medical-electrical-evidence

    Name

    Medical electrical evidence

    Category

    Medical Electrical Safety

    Status

    Included In Medical Registration

    Object

    Finished Device

    Note

    International-certificate route evidence (EDA guideline 2025): CE certificate (incl. EU 722/2012 annotation for bovine TSE materials), ISO 13485:2016 from an internationally accredited body, USFDA CFG, Health Canada MDEL/MDALL or Declaration of Conformity; local devices add Zone IVa stability (30°C±2, RH 65±5%), sterilization validation and biocompatibility for non-reference-country devices; re-registration needs a real-time stability study; notified-body PSUR/PMSR evaluations must be available to MDSU on request.

    Source Binding

    unresolved

  • Id

    ntra-light-intermediate-tight-type-approval

    Name

    NTRA Light/Intermediate/Tight type approval

    Category

    Radio Spectrum

    Status

    Mandatory If Feature

    Object

    Equipment With Communications Element

    Source Urls
    • https://www.tra.gov.eg/en/regulations/type-approval/
    • https://www.tra.gov.eg/en/regulations/type-approval/type-approval-procedure/
    Source Binding

    candidate

Official Sources
  • Authority

    NTRA

    Topic

    type approval

    Url

    https://www.tra.gov.eg/en/regulations/type-approval/

  • Authority

    NTRA

    Topic

    type-approval procedure

    Url

    https://www.tra.gov.eg/en/regulations/type-approval/type-approval-procedure/

  • Authority

    EDA Egypt

    Topic

    2025 registration guideline international certificates and stability testing

    Url

    https://dev.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/iaonaz5o/8-regulatory-guideline-for-procedures-of-registering-imported-and-local-medical-devices-holding-international-quality-certificates2025.pdf

  • Authority

    EDA Egypt

    Topic

    vigilance guideline PSUR and PMSR availability to MDSU

    Url

    https://www.edaegypt.gov.eg/media/tnhdmqnb/guideline-egyptian-guideline-for-medical-device-vigilance-system.pdf

Keep researching this market
View the Egypt resource hub →
Compare regulatory data across all countries →
DJ Fang
Need to apply Egypt's requirements to a product?
Confirm the current EDA pathway, evidence, and local-role details for the actual device before filing.
Pricing